Paella

Paella


The most famous of the dishes spanish cuisine appears at xviiie century in theHorta from Valencia. The peasants of the region accommodated in their own way the rice from the neighboring lagoonAlbufera. In 1920, a black-smith from the village ofAlaquàsGarcia Montoro, start theindustrialization of this paella dish using the pushback.

After the spanish civil war (1936-1939) the country wanting, to develop tourism, to find an emblematic national dish, the General Franco chooses paella for several reasons: inexpensive rice, easy arrangements and, above all, the colors of the dish (red of the pepper and tomato, yellow of the saffron rice), which echo those of the spanish flagl.

The rice for cooking paella must remain firm while absorbing the juice well.

Half-long or round rices are the most suitable; Do not use Asian rice and avoid risotto rice because it is too sticky. Preferably opt for a certified D.O. Arroz de Valencia rice (Bomba, Bahia, Sénia and Albufera types). It grows up to 4 times its size and its high absorption capacity is ideal.

Bahia and Sénia are rices with semi-long pearl grains, the size of which is between 5 and 6 millimeters. The "pearl" provides additional starch which promotes the absorption of the broth during its cooking, and therefore the transmission of the flavors of the cooked dish.

Bomba has a round grain of less than 5 millimeters. It is pearly and has an excellent culinary quality because it does not open lengthwise. Abufera, another round rice, is also suitable for paella.

To date there are many paella recipes, but Valencians deny any preparation other than theirs the right to call themselves paella Valenciana. In the paella orthodox, there could be no other meats than those taken from farmyard animals: chickenrabbit, and or) duck, which we brown witholive oil. Then add some tomato grated (or mashed tomatoes), ferradures (green beans), a few garrofons (lima beans, very large white beans) and / or tavelles (fresh beans in grain), some add tubs (small snails fields), artichokespeppers and / or a littlegarlic.

Adding rice.

Giant paella.

In the Valencian paella, the rice is cooked in the broth but in the paella ofAlicante, the rice must first be returned in oil, it must be fried. Paella can be served with lemon to squeeze the juice onto the dish, if desired. The yellow coloring of rice comes from saffron (or a dye food based But). Nothing in common between this recipe and paellas "Modern" (paella mixta), where meats and fish, seafood, and pork intermingle. The purists claim that it is then only "Rice" to this or that.

The paella heterodox can incorporate other ingredients: pork chops cut into cubes, fishcuttlefishsquid, shellfish (prawnslangoustines), molluscs (mussels), and other seafood, or be cooked only with vegetables (paella vegan), in multiple variations.

Like other great Mediterranean specialties (Cocapizzapasta Italian, couscous, etc.), paella was originally a popular dish whose recipe varied depending on the local and seasonal ingredients available.


Language
French
Open drop down

Paella

Paella


Le plus connu des plats de la cuisine espagnole apparaît au xviiie siècle dans l’Horta de Valence. Les paysans de la région accommodèrent à leur manière le riz de la lagune voisine de l'Albufera. En 1920, un forgeron du village d'AlaquàsGarcia Montoro, commence l'industrialisation de ce plat à paella par technique de repoussage.

Après la guerre civile espagnole (1936-1939) le pays voulant, pour développer le tourisme, trouver un plat emblématique national, le général Franco choisit la paella pour plusieurs raisons : le riz peu coûteux, les accommodements faciles et, surtout, les couleurs du plat (rouge du poivron et de la tomate, jaune du riz safrané), qui reprennent celles du drapeau espagnol.

Le riz pour cuisiner la paella doit rester ferme tout en absorbant bien le jus.

Les riz demi-longs ou ronds sont les plus adaptés ; il ne faut pas employer les riz asiatiques et éviter les riz à risottos car trop collants. Opter de préférence pour un riz certifié D.O. Arroz de Valencia (types Bomba, Bahia, Sénia et Albufera). Il grossit jusqu'à 4 fois sa taille et sa grande capacité d'absorption est idéale.

Le Bahia et le Sénia sont des riz avec des grains demi-longs perlés, dont la taille est comprise entre 5 et 6 millimètres. La "perle" apporte un supplément d’amidon qui favorise l’absorption du bouillon durant sa cuisson, et donc la transmission des saveurs du plat cuisiné.

Le Bomba a un grain rond inférieur à 5 millimètres. Il est perlé et dispose d’une excellente qualité culinaire car il ne s’ouvre pas longitudinalement. L'Abufera, un autre riz rond, convient également pour la paella.

Il existe à ce jour de nombreuses recettes de paella, mais les Valenciens dénient à toute autre préparation que la leur le droit de s'appeler paella valenciana. Dans la paella orthodoxe, il ne saurait y avoir d'autres viandes que celles tirées des animaux de basse-cour : pouletlapin, et (ou) canard, que l'on fait dorer avec de l'huile d'olive. Il faut ensuite ajouter de la tomate râpée (ou de la purée de tomates), des ferradures (haricots verts), quelques garrofons (haricots de Lima, de très gros haricots blancs) et/ou tavelles (haricots frais en grain), certains ajoutent des baquetes (petits escargots des champs), des artichauts, des poivrons et/ou un peu d'ail.

Ajout du riz.

Paella géante.

Dans la paella valencienne, le riz est cuit dans le bouillon mais dans la paella d'Alicante, le riz doit d'abord être revenu dans l'huile, il doit être frit. La paella peut être servie avec du citron afin d'en presser le jus sur le plat, si on le souhaite. La coloration jaune du riz provient du safran (ou bien d'un colorant alimentaire à base de maïs). Rien de commun entre cette recette et les paellas « modernes » (paella mixta), où s'entremêlent viandes et poissons, fruits de mer, et cochonnailles. Les puristes affirment qu'il ne s'agit alors que de « riz » à ceci ou à cela.

La paella hétérodoxe peut intégrer d'autres ingrédients : côtelettes de porc coupées en cubes, poissonseichecalmar, crustacés (gambaslangoustines), mollusques (moules), et autres fruits de mer, ou être cuisinée uniquement avec des légumes (paella végétalienne), dans de multiples variations.

À l'instar d'autres grandes spécialités méditerranéennes (cocapizzapâtes italiennes, couscous, etc.), la paella était à l'origine un plat populaire dont la recette variait en fonction des ingrédients locaux et de saison à disposition.


Language
French
Open drop down